The term "sell American" is something that I came across a while back while doing research on metric websites. What I seem to notice at stores, is that alot of homemade American products such as food, including meat, milk, potatoes, etc, seem to emphasize US Customary Units rather then metric units. Often many of these companies tend to be local based, and seem to assume that being local, metric units are not needed. This is not true for a lot of reasons. One of the reasons is that because the local companies emphasise only Customary Units, they cannot sell outside the US. If metric units were used and emphasized on home grown products, we could increase imports of our products across the globe, allowing small companies to gain an international advantage over companies that sell only in America. Another reason why metric units are important to local American companies is that using SI allows for more efficient and cheaper packaging and sizing, thus cutting costs. Lower costs plus international trade combined would make for a very profitable situation for local, and small companies.



Leave a Reply.

    View my profile on LinkedIn

    Author

    Hello. Im Derry ODell.  Im a 22 year old, who grew up in Riverside, California and take a big interest in science. I am a college student at DeVry University as well as a member of the US Metric Association. My degree is in Computers and Electronics Technology as I am pursuing a career as a computer tech.  SI units first got my attention during my trips to Mexico, Canada, and Jamaica, where I needed to be able to use metric units to navigate, and when I found SI to have a very easy learning curve, being based off of the decimal system. Metric conversion is something that is important and I will do my best to promote and help others promote SI

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All