The Uniform Packaging and Labelling Regulation has allowed for metric only label displays for quite some time now, (since 2000, in fact). However, I have yet to see items which take advantage of using the metric only option. Motor oil companies, such as Mobile 1 are allowed to use liters vs quarts for oil package sizes. However, labels still display "1 US Quart, 946 mL". In Canada, this bottle is merely stripped of the quart label, leaving the 946 mL label intact. The extra costs of dual labelling and removing labels, I find to be unnecessary especially since this particular item is allowed to use metric only in the US. A suggestion I have for manufacturers who label UPLR covered goods in rounded imperial and unrounded metric units is to understand consumers knowledge of metric. Liters and grams are commonly understood SI units in America, and thus it would be beneficial to both the consumer, and to the manufacturer in terms of cost and understanding to use metric only.  I also recommend writing to companies who do not take advantage of the UPLR metric only option, to politely encourage them to use SI only. Something as simple as a nice letter can make a big impact. It does not hurt to try.
Keith L
2/24/2013 05:14:45 am

I have been writing to some companies and posting ads for this of 2013. I hope we make some progress.
Thank you

Reply
Derry ODell
2/24/2013 05:16:17 am

I've written to some as well. Still in the process of writing but I do hope we get some sort of a response from companies.

Reply
David
3/26/2013 01:21:09 pm

The OZ on packages are kind annoying espically when everyone just uses Liters or Grams for it anyway and can picture it like on 1 liter bottles or 10 grams for example. Also medicine should go fully metric instead of having tsb. ETC. Milk shoud just be a liter instead of a quart. Hopefully we will allow this because we are suppose to go metric since the 1800s and 1970s.

Reply
Derry ODell
3/26/2013 01:23:00 pm

I agree. It's long over due to switch to metric only

Reply
4/1/2013 08:12:22 am

Since the United States and Canada both have different labelling laws and agencies (plus a requirement for French in Canada, a business-friendly desire to use Spanish in parts of the United States), using only metric would not eliminate the need for dual labels.

What about labeling in Mexico?


We wish that, in Canada, the US, Imperial quarts would be indicated as well. Think these are still listed in automotive guides for vehicle oil and gasoline tank capacities (the latter in gallons rather than quarts).

Reply
Blaine
10/9/2013 05:18:42 pm

In Canada, most packaged motor oil is sold in true 1 L sizes, this includes all Canadian domestic brands, European brands and even one (may be two) US brand(s). Only a couple US brand that are major US brands are sold here in the notably smaller 946 mL US size. Considering that Canada's historic quart was 1136.5 mL you can see why the even smaller 946 mL size is less predominant here.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    View my profile on LinkedIn

    Author

    Hello. Im Derry ODell.  Im a 22 year old, who grew up in Riverside, California and take a big interest in science. I am a college student at DeVry University as well as a member of the US Metric Association. My degree is in Computers and Electronics Technology as I am pursuing a career as a computer tech.  SI units first got my attention during my trips to Mexico, Canada, and Jamaica, where I needed to be able to use metric units to navigate, and when I found SI to have a very easy learning curve, being based off of the decimal system. Metric conversion is something that is important and I will do my best to promote and help others promote SI

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All