As I am sure alot of people know, America's conversion to metric has taken a back seat in terms of priority since the mid 1990s.  In the early 90s, the Fair Packaging and Labelling Act was amended to make metric labels a requirement alongside inch/pound units, however, using metric only was (and still is) prohibited by the FPLA.  The continuation of inch/pound labelling has negativelly affected package marketing.  For example, a 500 mL bottle of  soda is often marketed as 16.9 FL OZ in either larger labels, or on a box/shelf.  Interestingly enough, 500 mL bottles of water are usually marketed as 500 mL or .5 liters.  However, store shelves display it in customary units.  What I think should happen is for stores to all come to a consensus with product manufacturers to market products that are of rounded metric sizes, to their metric size, instead of ounces.  This may help prevent people from thinking "16.9 oz" when seeing a 500 mL bottle.  However, bottles is just one example.  When I was at target, I examined a 750 mL container of cleaning liquid, marked as 750 in the primary label spot.  However the store markets it in fluid ounces.  Dissapointing, but it provides an opportunity to contact the stores and explain how marketing in metric helps the consumer associate with SI units. 



Leave a Reply.

    View my profile on LinkedIn

    Author

    Hello. Im Derry ODell.  Im a 22 year old, who grew up in Riverside, California and take a big interest in science. I am a college student at DeVry University as well as a member of the US Metric Association. My degree is in Computers and Electronics Technology as I am pursuing a career as a computer tech.  SI units first got my attention during my trips to Mexico, Canada, and Jamaica, where I needed to be able to use metric units to navigate, and when I found SI to have a very easy learning curve, being based off of the decimal system. Metric conversion is something that is important and I will do my best to promote and help others promote SI

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All